Constraints

20130328-054817.jpg

While I feel that we didn’t incorporate our constraints as much as I would have liked, I think I really like this method of ideation. While it seems counter intuitive to have limits, it actually helped me to think more creatively about how to tackle a problem for multiple perspectives.

One interesting thought though is that it may be nice to try turning the constraint on its head and doing the opposite thing. Eg. What if our concept had no access to maintenance after installation? Can be changed to, “What if our concept made constant maintenance compulsory?” Seems strange, but one idea that came to mind is to have a system where the buses that operate during non peak hours could be stopping to do a quick setup at bus stops each day before rush hour as preparation, and the last buses after peak traffic times to pack up.

It made me think of ways in which aspects that might normally be negative can be turned into something useful.